Autumn 1953 • Vol. XV No. 4 Joseph Conrad |

Lingard’s Folly: The Lost Subject

Three novels by Joseph Conrad—Almayer's Folly (1895), An Outcast of the Islands (1896) and The Rescue (1920)—comprise what might have been a purposeful trilogy, a tragedy in three acts, centered in the character of Tom Lingard, of misplaced good intentions. Written in reverse chronological order, they record first the consequences and later the inceptions of Tom Lingard's benevolent despotism. The unity of purpose in this novel-in-reverse is more potential than real, yet Albert Guerard, Jr., accepts the trilogy as an essay in moral continuity and finds "the full measure of Conrad's skepticism" reflected in the career of Tom Lingard, "the central figure of his work."1 Here is a case of the anxious synthesizer completing the author's design for him; to discover in the separate novels consistent mutations of Lingard's tragic flaw is a compliment unjustified by the insecurity of the original conception. The interest of the three novels lies in their collective clue to Conrad's shift

Already have an account? Log in

Join KR for even more to read.

Register for a free account to read five free pieces a month from our current issue and digital archive.
Register for Free and Read This Piece

Or become a subscriber today and get complete, immediate access to our digital archives at every subscription level.

Read More


Your free registration with Kenyon review incudes access to exclusive content, early access to program registration, and more.


With your support, we’ll continue 
to cultivate talent and publish extraordinary literature from diverse voices around the world.