Kenyon Review logo

E. L. Doctorow

E.L. Doctorow (1931-2015) was the author of several novels, including City of God, Ragtime, The Book of Daniel, and The March. Among the honors he received are the National Book Award, two National Book Critics Circle Awards, the PEN/Faulkner Award, the Edith Wharton Citation for Fiction, the William Dean Howells Medal of the Academy of Arts and Letters, and the presidentially conferred National Humanities Medal.

Winter 1979

Loon Lake

By E. L. Doctorow

If you listen the small splash is beaver. As beaver swim their fur lays back and their heads elongate and a true imperial cruelty shines from their eyes. They’re rodents […]