May 4, 2007KR BlogKR

Take Two

PEN announced its 2007 literary award recipients. Phillip Roth will receive the inaugural PEN/Saul Bellow Award, recognizing “a distinguished living American author of fiction whose body of work in English possesses qualities of excellence, ambition, and scale of achievement over a sustained career which place him or her in the highest rank of American literature.” PEN also introduced a new prize for nonfiction, the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction, which will be awarded to James Carroll for his book House of War (Houghton Mifflin). The PEN/Robert Bingham Fellowship for Writers, which honors fiction writing debut, will go to Janna Levin for her novel A Madman Dreams of Turing Machines (Knopf). The PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award for Poetry will go to Peter Covino, author of Cut Off the Ears of Winter (2005), published by New Issues. Awards for translations, editing, drama and more will also be presented at Lincoln Center on May 21. Find them all here.

Closer to home, KR is happy to announce two winners of 2008 (Vol. XXXII) Pushcart Prizes: poets Meghan O’Rourke for “War Lullaby” and Linda Gregerson for “Bicameral.” Congrats, dear friends.